Melitastitches4fun's Blog


A Toast to Tiffany, 2019 Seminar Class, with Kay Stanis, Day 2 of 3
August 16, 2019, 9:31 pm
Filed under: A Toast to Tiffany with Kay Stanis, ANG Seminar 2019

Well, after a lovely evening last night at the Needlepoint Fiesta dinner, I didn’t want to stitch. But, I did read the instructions and really like the “Technique” sheets that Kay Stanis includes with the instructions for A Toast to Tiffany. They cover “Framing Up Canvas on Stretcher Bars” (well written so I could do this again if desired), “Beginning and Ending Stitchable Threads on Canvas” (learned an interesting French Method Adaptation and about a U stitch which seems better than L stitch), “Beginning and Ending Non-stitchable Threads” (all new for me having not done much goldwork), “Design Transfer” (very understandable and doable but tedious), “Diagonal Holding/Blending” (a very cool technique), and “Braids” (new, for me, info about beginning, ending, and couching braids).

We spent this morning doing the crescents of which I got 4 done. Kay suggested that instead of all S crescents on left and we alternate crescent directions and I like the pattern she shows as Z-S-Z-Z-S-Z (from top to bottom).

I spent about 35 minutes of lunch basting on top of tissue paper the bottom motifs. The tissue paper didn’t bother me as much maybe because I really had it solidly in place using several needles. Then, I used the afternoon to pad and satin stitch the petals followed by couching the gold around the petals.

We also discussed how to place the sequins on the borders but I don’t have the borders all basted and will put them on last anyway. The day was over fast. Tomorrow is the stitch for the trees and probably the borders.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment