Melitastitches4fun's Blog


New Thread Drawers
May 26, 2017, 3:29 pm
Filed under: General comments, Organization

In about an hour & a half, I put the IKEA Helmer drawer unit together without swearing or bleeding! Not many screws (only for the feet and handles). Mostly, I just bent metal. Seems very sturdy too. Another day, I will put the other two together. That will give me 18 drawers for my threads.

Each drawer maximizes the available inside space compared to other units I looked at. And, there is a handle instead of an opening which could let dust in. Also, there are small gaps on each side where the drawers were bent allowing the threads to breath.  I am putting the 3 cabinets side by side under a counter. But, if I need to expand, they could stack. I would just have to find somewhere else to put them. The overall dimensions are width 11″, depth 16&3/4, height 27″ (with 1″ casters); inside, each drawer measures 9″, 15″, and 3&1/4″. I should be able to use inside dividers or maybe a tray to help keep things neat. That will probably depend on what threads I have in my stash now.

I am going to arrange by color and decided to follow the DMC floss color chart. I sent more time rearranging the flosses than putting the cabinet together. But, I can see color families now which will help me with figuring out color combinations. My stitching buddy, Linda, has graciously agreed to help me sort through all my other threads! Isn’t she wonderful!

Before and after . . .

Helmer before

Helmer drawer unit


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Looks great! I put that rubbery shelf liner in some of mine to keep spools from rolling around.

Comment by Liz

Good idea! Thanks for your input. This is a bigger undertaking than I expected. It seems like a mountain of threads! Yet, when I see your pictures and others, I know my stash isn’t that big. And, I am never buying another grab bag of threads again!

Comment by melitastitches4fun




Leave a comment