Melitastitches4fun's Blog


Forest Glen and Maine Roadtrip

While vacationing in Maine this past week, I wanted a small project to travel with and something not too difficult. And, Forest Glen, a design from Kick Back & Stitch by Terry Gifford was perfect.

I used Santa Fe Sage canvas (6) instead of the Victorian Green canvas (11) – samples are from a package with 25 colors that I bought from Fireside Stitchery (3 x 3 swatches). I do prefer to work on a lighter canvas.

Sample canvases

And, I used the same white Kreinik (032), DMC #5 (502), and DMC Floss (369, 368, 320) as suggested. But, I couldn’t find Leah’s Overdyed Perle 12 (243). So, I picked up Wildflowers Jade (066) which I figured out looks darker than the lighter green/white Leah’s overdyed thread from the picture. And, I didn’t find the DMC Perle #8 (320).

So, I was in Maine needing threads for a project.  Luckily,  Mary Jo Cole, owner of Needlepoint America in Kennebunk was open & suggested a yellow Kreinik which she generously gave me from her stash. She has tons of hand-painted canvases including lobster belts and other Maine memorabilia. She also carries a unique line of canvases, mid 1800s floral designs of William Morris that look timeless. I have reached a level of stash that must decrease before I buy more & resisted all urges!

20160528_141121

And, these lovely musical crib hanging ornaments. These were tough to pass on but I can always order one online!

20160528_141750

I decided to use the yellow Kreinik just in the 4 corners of each eyelet to add some sparkle. And, I used the light yellow portion of Needle Necessities Pearl 8 overdyed (866) that I found at Grace Robinson & Company in Freeport.  Good thing I am not a knitter! They have tons of beautiful yarns. Some painted canvases and threads (in drawers behind a counter). I told Meghan what I was looking for and the one she found came the closest but I decided to avoid the rust and green in the overdyed thread and just use the light yellow for 8 prongs of the eyelet. And, I filled in the remaining 12 prongs with the lightest and medium colors of the green DMC Floss. Now, the yellow Kreinik actually looks like it is yellow-green. That left me to use the more interesting overdyed Wildflowers on the outer border in place of the solid medium green DMC Perle #8.

Forest Glen


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Very pretty. I like your color/thread choices!

Comment by Liz




Leave a comment