Melitastitches4fun's Blog


ANG 2016 Stitch of the Month
January 28, 2016, 5:44 pm
Filed under: ANG Main Line Stitchers Chapter, ANG Stitch of the Month, 2016

This year’s ANG Stitch of the Month (SOTM) from ANG is Feuilles d’ananas, by Susan Hoekstra (Pineapple Leaves) – A Study in Values. I was so tempted to do it in Susan’s colorway too (see it at http://needlepoint.org/StitchOfTheMonth/2016/SOTM201601_Introduction.pdf). But, as soon as I saw the materials list, I knew that there were plenty of skeins of Needlepoint Silk from Mae Van Damm’s stash in a wide range of scarlet reds. Sure enough, I had 5 values & enough to offer them to our members at ANG Main Line Stitcher’s chapter.

So, I took them to Fireside Stitchery before our January meeting and found 6 Pepper Pot Silk colors and 2 Kreiniks to go with them (thanks to Linda for her assistance). I have them listed below. A couple of folks are going to do the piece in the reds. We all agreed it is a pretty design.

2016 SOTM Threads

SOTM 2016 Threads

I had an easier way to stitch the 4-way Amadeus but glad I stitched it both ways. I could really see a difference! On the left, you see the easy way (stitch first the entire left side and then the entire right side) leaves a gap in the center which could be used if I went back and placed a thread or a bugle bead down the middle. But, I stitched it the way Susan charted it (one stitch on the left and matching stitch on the right with continued alternating sides one stitch at a time as it is built).

Arrow Amadeus

And, the 4-Way Arrow Amadeus was done for the meeting too!

4-Way Arrow Amadeus

.

 

 

 


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for writing about the difference between the regular way to do the Amadeus stitch and Susan’s instructions. I too had some issues with this stitch because of the thread I used. I’ll write all about it in my blog which will be posted soon.

Your red threads are scrumptious!

Comment by brendasneedlepointstudioblog

Love your colors! I’m almost convinced to stitch this! But I’m not supposed to start another project right now.

Comment by Liz




Leave a comment