Melitastitches4fun's Blog


ANG Seminar Surprises
August 25, 2014, 3:01 pm
Filed under: ANG Seminar 2014

I can’t take a photo inside the exhibit area so I can only describe what I saw. The white ribbon for third place in the original design non-professional category hanging from Crescent River was quite a thrill. I can’t wait to read the judge’s critique and will share that after I get home.

Seeing Traditions by Liz Morrow in person after following her progress as she stitched it on her blog is exciting. Love the beads.

Catherine Jordan has a different piece, The Gift, which are stitched ribbons wrapped around a glass block. Catherine always comes up with interesting ideas!

Bill & I both walked around twice, together & alone. We both had our People’s vote selected and it was for the same piece, Multicolored Floral by Brenda Hart, a painted canvas design without stitch guide. The autumn leaves shimmer with gold work played on top. That won a Judge’s Choice Award.

Arlene C stitched Rhododendrons on 40 count gauze beautiful with shadowing of the blues to match her first place ribbon & purples to match the Small Masterpiece Award.

There were about 125 newtimers at the Welcome Banquet & 3 got Arad’s:
Violet A – Hilton Award for Mulberry & Lime designed by Jeanne Polzin.
Vicky B. – Nina Goerres Christmas Theme Award for Frontier Santa
Barbara V – Sampler Award for In the Footsteps of the Pharoahs. Barbara should get an award for sending in 8 pieces!

I could go on about all the pieces but have to meet my husband at Billy Goat Tavern! It is only about 2 blocks away!!

Congrats to everyone – all entries are so pretty. Non-seminar people wandering said what I always say… How can the judges decide?

Winners


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi, Melita – THANK YOU SO MUCH for mentioning me and for posting this picture of winners!!! As a teacher just getting back into the school year, it is nearly impossible for me to consider attending Seminar during this time of year and I just got on to surf around the internet pages to see if there was any info about Exhibit and ribbon winners. Nothing on ANG’s page (yet) or on their Facebook page. Got to your blog through Jane at CH, having read here before and knowing that you were at Seminar. And, oh, my – to have you mention me by name and find out that I won two ribbons – so appreciate this! I hope that more details, pictures (not of Exhibit, I know), and info about Seminar will be out there in the online world soon and over the next few days, but, for this moment, thank you for letting me know this news! – Arlene C in NJ

Comment by Arlene Cohen

I Am So Glad You Saw This! Maybe You Can Visit Our Chapter & Show UsYour Piece! Congrats!

Comment by melitastitches4fun

Me too! Thanks for mentioning my Transitions and for posting about the winners. I know you are very busy at seminar and so appreciate anything I can find out!

Comment by Liz Morrow




Leave a comment