Melitastitches4fun's Blog


Christmas Cactus
January 12, 2014, 8:45 pm
Filed under: Christmas Cactus, Christmas Ornaments, Other People's Pieces

My second stop in Arizona was Quail Run Needlepoint where I picked up a Christmas Cactus ornament. Particularly appropriate because we spent Christmas in Arizona & had sent a picture of Bill standing next to a big cactus saying it was our Christmas Tree this year. We were amazed at how big they grow. Later, we did see a few decorated ones. Eventually, we’ll have a decorated cactus as a memento. Perfect!

I found the most incredible thread for it too – Sea Grass (104) from The Thread Gatherer. It is flat & thin – will really elongate the natural shape of the cactus. Then, the gold Rachelette (A47) will criss-cross on top of the Sea Grass. Not that I needed much for the gift boxes but I picked up Sparkle Rays (PS03) for the yellow gift box and ThreadworX #8 braid (710541) because I doubted I had any bright yellow or blue in my stash. While I knew I had enough reds to choose from, I never tried City Needlework thread (#45), a Chinese silk.

The Quail Run seal matched the brown bag and was a perfectly fine presentation. The edges of the canvas were taped. And, I got a 10% ANG discount. They had the books, charted designs, painted canvases, Watercolours, and Waterlillies. So far, 2 wonderful stores!

Christmas Cactus

 

 

 

I found a note that this piece is called “Western Star” by Katrina at Quail Run. Katrina doesn’t have an internet presence. She lives in the mountains of Colorado & comes into the store periodically and sells her painted canvases.

It will make a wonderful remembrance of Christmas in Arizona!


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for the info re shops. I was in AZ for Xmas and found one shop that was closed when I got there due to flooding, so I did not find anything of interest. Shelley

Comment by Shelley

I Went ThursdaY After Christmas & Got Lucky, No Flooding By Then!

Comment by melitastitches4fun




Leave a comment