Melitastitches4fun's Blog


Bunch of Grapes
January 1, 2014, 9:12 pm
Filed under: Melita's Designs

I started a needlepoint piece for a friend who we are seeing next weekend. I selected a jewelry box from my stash of finishing pieces which I picked it up at a flea market. I love flea markets! With a small heart opening, I knew I could get it done in a week. But, unfortunately, my husband was sick on New Year’s Eve (day & night). Because we stayed in yesterday & today (he is feeling better now), I focused on this piece AND it is done in just 2 days!

My friend Kathy loves wine. So, I thought grapes would be perfect. I decided on a circular Rhodes because it was round and would have dimension (raised center like grapes). I made a rough draft on graph paper & would adjust as needed. Not making the stitch complicated helped me get it done quickly. And, I allowed myself to be more random as grapes would be in nature. I am not sure how accurate this diagram is now compared to my finished piece.

Bunch of Grapes Diagram

Next, I selected 4 threads from my DMC stash because they shared the same shade within the purple color family: 3834, 3835, 3836, & 3837. For the grapes on the left, I did a mathematical thread blending as follows:

A = 3834 x 6 threads
B = 3834 x 4 threads & 3835 x 2 threads
C = 3834 x 3 threads & 3835 x 3 threads
D = 3834 x 2 threads & 3835 x 4 threads
E = 3834 x 6 threads

And, the same with 3836/3837.

Initially, I tried compensating the Rhodes in between the full grapes but it was looking messy & the full size grapes were disappearing when I used 3 threads of 1 of the 2 matching colors. So, I decided that basketweave with a color from the other bunch of grapes would make enough contrast. Then, I added in some branches & leaves (3051/3053). I did attach an extra layer of canvas around the edge so that the needlepoint wouldn’t shift in the insert. But even that wasn’t enough. So, I added a square of white felt which worked perfectly!

It was a shame Bill got sick but I enjoyed stitching!

Jewelry Box Inside

Jewelry Box Top


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great job and happy new year!

Comment by Buff biddle

Gorgeous! Your design looks fabulous and the box is stunning. I hope your friend was thrilled! If not, I’m sure we could find a home for it…..

Comment by Liz

Nice! Happy New Year!
Roseanne

Comment by Roseanne

Thanks ladies & Happy New Year to you too! My friend loved it & put it right on her dresser!

Comment by melitastitches4fun

melita this is so beautiful, thoughtful and simple without taking itself so seriously like some painted canvases can be. You have one lucky friend.

Comment by Karen Milano




Leave a comment