Melitastitches4fun's Blog


Crescent River, Flowers Growing Wild
July 31, 2013, 8:15 pm
Filed under: Crescent River, Melita's Designs

The ‘flowers’ are growing wild on the left side of the river. I say wild because there is a slight deviation from the diamond eyelet pattern that I began using from The Needlepoint Book by Jo Ippolito Christensen. First, I didn’t use the frame stitch but that’s not what I’m talking about. I was trying to blend the light portion of Watercolours Sierra 222 into the Rye 223 but I got confused on the pattern. Can you find the “wild” flowers? And, I just realized that when I first stitched them, I followed the diagram fine. But, after I put it away and went back to it a few days later, I put all stitches into the center hole. Now I know why it was harder to stitch the second batch of flowers! Oh well.

Wild Flowers

I thought that I was going to be done with this piece but there will be one more thread added. Those of you in ANG Yahoo Group will have an idea of what thread I will be using. More later.

In case you didn’t see my blog Tuesday, my husband, Bill, is one of the finalists for this week’s The New Yorker Cartoon Caption Contest!! Please vote for his caption (golfer walking into operating room, contest #388) at: http://www.newyorker.com/humor/caption


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Crescent River looks great! The wild flowers are wonderful & perfect in their differences. The river part looks more like a river every time I see it!
Are you bringing this to seminar? I’d love to see it in person!

Comment by Liz

Glad to hear your comments! And, I won’t be at seminar in CA – decided against it but I will plan to go next year in Chicago. I would have liked to see you.

Comment by melitastitches4fun




Leave a comment