Melitastitches4fun's Blog


Needlepoint Visit to Rochester & Canandaigua, NY
July 17, 2013, 4:42 pm
Filed under: General comments, Threads

The night before my shopping excursion, I met with the ANG Flower City chapter. It was a wonderful visit. I think I sparked some interest in the Correspondence Courses. And, I got to see Hiogi (Kay Stanis design) stitched along with many other beautiful pieces. There was a really wide variety of techniques, including knitting represented by about 2 dozen folks! Next time maybe I can sit and stitch for a while.

As we headed out from my aunt and uncle’s in Rochester towards my brother in Naples, I managed to find a new threads for my stash at:

Golden Thread Needlearts in East Rochester. They had Rainbow Gallery’s Silk & Cream described as their ‘Backgrounds Line’. It is a single ply (so, no laying) and is a 50/50 silk/wool blend. Andrea was very excited about the newest trunk show for Elizabeth Bradley. Isn’t the rug amazing! It can be hung on a wall (albeit a large one) or placed on the floor as it was going to be displayed. All kits are designed to be worked with a Victorian cross stitch which covers well and produces a thick, hard-wearing piece without distortion. And, it is not necessary to work it on a frame. I was tempted to get a single square to work up as a pillow. But, I just took the catalog (for now). They have a nice variety needlepoint including instructions for the Brenda Kocher design that our chapter is going to stitch in the fall (Tootsiebubbles: Pinwheels & Whirligigs). And, I saw a stitched Angel of Hope signed by Marilyn Leavitt-Imblum (I stitched it for my sister and is the subject of an earlier blog). I did get a counted cross stitch of a lilac. There is a very interesting wiki page on the annual Lilac Festival held in Highland Park in May. Growing up south of Rochester in Avon, I have enjoyed the beautiful local flowers.

Golden Thread Needlearts

Silk & Cream

AND at:

Expressions in NeedleArt in Canandaigua NY. The threads are ThreadworX and it is hand overdyed Kreinik (I got several colors in #8 and #12 braid). I never saw a plastic thimble before – very comfortable. Lori was kind enough to let me photo her in the store which has a great selection of threads and the painted canvases were amazing. I have to get used to using thinner threads or open stitches to allow the canvas to show through because there are soooo many beautiful canvases. There were tons of counted instruction booklets, books, and tools.

Expressions in NeedleArt

Metallic overdyed thread

Last but not least, 2 doors away is Liberty Cottage, a Folk Art Stitchery store. I got a fantastic tool which will allow me utilize threads for 2 punch needle projects that I bought some time ago and have yet to complete. I was thrilled to get a lesson from Suzanne who also allowed me to photo her standing next to her beautiful hand dyed wool fabric. She covers rug hooking, tatting, rag rug weaving, and many other crafts. I was tempted to stop in to see the Sat class on penny rug making but we had celebrated at my brother’s wedding a tad too much!

Liberty Cottage

Punch Needle

All the stores offer quality products with a good variety of stitching techniques to choose from and classes to learn – the area is very fortunate!

So, I completed the Rochester trifecta in one day! I enjoyed chatting with all the ladies and look forward to future visits. I really need to stitch faster or retire and stitch more. Then, I can visit more chapters and more stores!!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment