Melitastitches4fun's Blog


Grass Along the River Bank
July 6, 2013, 8:47 pm
Filed under: Crescent River, Melita's Designs

I added grass along the river bank using Watercolours (222 Sierra and 165 Granite). The Granite has a gray-green overdyed thread making the transition from rocks to sparse grass. Then, I blended various portions of Sierra which has a nice variety of greens and yellow.

I used stitch pattern 14 from Stitch Landscape from the grass category. But, it ended up having a pattern and I wanted a more random effect. So, I just added half crosses in the open areas. The top half of the stitched grass has the pattern and the bottom includes the random stitches.
Grass close-up

You won’t find a neat back because I skipped around a lot with various portions of the color to avoid bunching colors together. And, I pulled out my paints again and painted the canvas green because some (not a lot) canvas shows through.

Grass


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What a great idea–filling in spaces with half crosses. It works. And the addition of stones and grasses are now making the water’s flow more prominent.

Comment by Brenda's Needlepoint Studio Blog

I thought it was just me but I thought the river was more prominent now too! I don’t understand why.

Comment by melitastitches4fun

This is coming along so well. I remember when you started it and had such a time working out all the Crescents! This is going to be a really stunning piece.

Comment by Liz

This is so beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

Comment by goldbe




Leave a comment