Melitastitches4fun's Blog


River Bank on the Crescent River
June 30, 2013, 4:15 pm
Filed under: Crescent River, Melita's Designs

I’ve got the rocks done using an overdyed thread, Watercoulors Dark Suede (247) & Ash (218). The darker threads are nearer the water because wet rocks would be darker than the dry rocks farther from the water. And, the smaller rocks closer to the water are Smyrna and Elongated Smyrnas while the larger rocks farther away are various Rhodes (from Jean Hilton’s Needlepoint Stitches, pg 45 and 47, respectively).They are just randomly placed without any planning. I would look at the area as I progressed and try to pick the next stitch for the area and vary what I picked. But, they weren’t always a perfect fit and so there are a couple of half cross stitches over 1 thread here and there to cover the canvas.

River Bank


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love the variation in both stitches and colors. You “felt” your way along the bank perfectly!

Comment by suesci

Thanks – now to the surrounding ground. I didn’t start out with a very large canvas. So, I’m not sure what I’m doing next!

Comment by melitastitches4fun

Very realistic looking and great choice of stitches for the rocks.

Comment by Brenda's Needlepoint Studio Blog

Melita, this is really wonderful. There’s something very satisfying about translating your own idea’s onto canvas, to me it just feels different than working on a painted canvas. Thanks for sharing.

Comment by Karen Milano

Thanks. I agree – they are different experiences. And, I’ll take a blank canvas over painted any day!

Comment by melitastitches4fun




Leave a comment