Melitastitches4fun's Blog


Rehoboth Beach Museum’s Third Annual Needlecraft Exhibit
May 5, 2013, 10:53 pm
Filed under: General comments, Rehoboth Beach Museum Needlecraft Exhibit

Bill & I attended our first but the Rehoboth Beach Museum’s Third Annual Needlecraft Exhibit this weekend. It was a beautiful weekend. I can’t post pictures from the exhibit. So, I’ll just share a couple of the area. This was our second trip to the area – very pretty, good food, nice area to walk around & shop (for Christmas gifts). There were a few good buys from the outlet shops too! But, this is about the needlework (although I didn’t get to do any stitching) . . .

I wish I could have gone for the discussion of famous tapestries (in April). But, I am glad to seen the pieces. This is a judged event and included beadwork, canvaswork/needlepoint, counted thread (blackwork, cross stitch, drawn thread, hardanger), sampler, embroidery, heirloom sewing, lace, and miniature. I saw award-winning work from the 3 ANG DE Seashore ladies that I know (I am sure I met more of the exhibitors about 2 years ago for the class I took with their chapter but I can’t recall all the names). All the work was wonderful.

Some of the pieces that drew my particular attention were:
– first place beadwork pieces: a flashy fish with an open mouth (that was lined) by Shirley H. & a geometric purse by Nancy T.
– first place canvaswork by Brenda C which was a trio of Carol Lake’s ‘Anasazi Song’, ‘Anasazi Dream’, and ‘Anasazi Spirit’ – was knockout
– first & third place pieces in embroidery were the same pieces incorporating stumpwork and silk ribbons to create 12 flower & butterfly motifs. Each one (by Jill N & Shirley H) was slightly different. We had to keep walking back & forth to see the subtle differences. Very cool.
– one of two first place miniature ribbons went to Theresa B for her 7-piece German sewing kit which included a wooden box with a stitched insert, a roll, a scissors sheath, 2 biscornu, a bookmark, and a needle case.
– first & third went to Geri W for her mixed media work on ‘Berkshire Revisited’ which was an ANG Seminar class taught by Debbie Stiehler in Philly and ‘Summer Celebrations’, a red white blue group of square designs.
– honorable mention for Roseanne J was of particular interest – I have got to do a grape design at some point & that was a pretty one, ‘Harvest Time’ a Laura Perin Cyberclass.

Even though they didn’t win ribbons, I was enjoyed seeing the 40th Anniversary heart by Brenda C in person. And, I finally saw the Needlework Studio piece stitched. I have a copy of it but am not sure where I got it – was it given to us at seminar in 2010 in Ohio?

And, it was so much fun to meet up with Brenda C & her husband for dinner. They selected a nice restaurant – great way to spend the evening. Looking forward to getting back to the area and meeting up again with them.

Here are a few pictures from the weekend including the view from our balcony (too windy to sit on it), Midway Par 3 golf course (which is a favorite of Tony Kornheiser from ESPN’s Pardon The Interruption (PTI), and a Civil War Baseball game from Dover Days in Dover, DE.

A view from our balcony

Midway Par 3 Golf

Civil War Baseball


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Melita, DH and I had a wonderful time dining with you and your husband. Look forward to future opportunities to do this again, whether here in Delaware or up your way in Philly.

Comment by Brenda C.

Hi Brenda, We enjoyed dinner with you & Pete as well! Just give us call when you’re in the area. Melita

Comment by melitastitches4fun




Leave a comment