Melitastitches4fun's Blog


River Bank Along the Crescent River at the NJ Needle Festival
April 29, 2013, 5:14 pm
Filed under: Crescent River, Melita's Designs

I attended my first but the 2nd Annual NJ Needle Festival held at The Presbyterian Church at Pluckemin, 311 US 202 Bedminster Township, NJ hosted by Susan Hoekstra (foxview.com). It was so well organized. We got a retractable tape measure with “New Jersey Needle Festival” & the website (needlefest.com) marked on it as a favor. And, there were a bunch of free designs you could take if you wanted. I want to do a piece for someone who brought back a scarf from India for me. And, there was a mosaic pattern inspired by a scarf from the Philippines. It is very colorful (and it will be our secret that the pattern is not Indian).

About a dozen vendors including Nimble Needle were there – it is always nice to see Karen!

I got a lesson on fleece stabbing (a wonderful way to work out frustrations and be productive) using a needle felting tool & bought this eye glass case made from alpacas (hwralpacas.com) for me (since Bill didn’t need it)!

Eye Glass Case

And, I got 2 quilted notepad covers (Xmas gifts) and an iPad pouch for me from Trish Vine Designs. I had met Trish from ANG PA Keystone Garden Chapter last month when I visited them with the Correspondence Course booklets. She also had some wonderful clear plastic project holders with quilted edging.
Quilted pieces

Read more about both vendors and others at http://blogs.mycentraljersey.com/institches/

You can see my table in the In Stitches blog (bottom left but 2nd one up – I was probably walking around looking at all the pieces or shopping – it is the table with the large flag on a frame). I had a great time chatting and stitching with Rae & Rona – Ann & Barbara from NYC joined us & then Mary McG also from the Keystone Garden chapter arrived a little late. I was thrilled when Rona first looked at my piece and said “what great movement” – that was what I was going for! Then, before I’d gotten too much done, Mary asked about how I was going to develop the piece & I shared my very rough ideas & showed my threads. But, she set me on the right path about the size of rocks along rivers. I’m thrilled because while I want it abstract, I do want it to be authentic. Now I know the smaller rocks are nearer the water & large rocks are farther away from the water’e edge.

River Bank

You can see me standing on the far left of the first picture (light green shirt) admiring someone’s work in Rosie’s entry at http://blog.njneedleartists.org/ . I love that the whole NJNA chapter can contribute to the blog entries. I didn’t know that was possible. Bill and I really enjoyed dinner and talking with Rosie & Sue later that evening. I’m looking forward to seeing how they progress on the stitch of the month project.

It was a fun, wonderful opportunity to meet tons of people & see loads of beautiful projects! Already looking forward to next year’s event on Saturday April 26, 2014.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment