Melitastitches4fun's Blog


Thanks to all the Hospitality Desk Volunteers
September 1, 2012, 5:39 pm
Filed under: ANG Seminar 2012

I had about 40 wonderful folks contributing their time to volunteer at the Hospitality Desk. And, to thank them, I made a stitched commemorative gift. Since I couldn’t stitch one for everyone, I had a daily drawing. For every hour worked, they put a slip in the box. The more worked, the more chances! I divulged pictures of each gift daily during seminar!

I want to thank ANG for the certificate and bookmark that I was given for my efforts! That was a nice surprise & useful.

The whole week really was a success because of everyone. Even my husband, Bill, helped me! He drew names a few days & wrote out the lists of winners (he has better handwriting than I). He loved the ANG pens that were handed out at the opening banquet so I gave him mine.

Funny story: We do not usually kiss in public & I don’t know what possessed me but after I kissed him goodbye on the elevator when he was off to dinner with Tony on the night of the closing banquet, he got kisses from all the ladies on the elevator!! What a fun group of women!

It is such an amazing amount of work to put on a seminar such as this and as this was only my second I really appreciated everyone contributing. I showed up at 8 am to check on things before class, popped in at least once during the day, and came back at 5 pm for drawings. So, I don’t think I met everyone but many of you I did meet. I worked a couple of shifts but really got to enjoy my classes! In fact, I even finished one and is the subject of an upcoming blog.

A special thanks goes out to Lynn who enjoyed the seminar as well. She gave me this lovely Mother of Pearl ‘Thread Keep’ for my efforts before & during seminar. I will use it often and remember all of you and what a wonderful 40th seminar we had in my home city of Philadelphia!

And, last but not least, many folks stopped me to say they enjoyed reading my blog & I appreciate that as well. It is a wonderful medium to share my needlepoint and am glad anyone takes the time to visit!!


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Melita: you’re welcome! Lynn

Comment by Lynn




Leave a comment