Melitastitches4fun's Blog


Sky 23 Stitch Landscape & iTunes Update !?!
March 31, 2012, 9:46 pm
Filed under: ANG Main Line Stitchers Chapter, Christmas Trees

As you may recall, not long ago I showed Sky 23 from Stitch Landscape by Little Shoppe Canvas Company.  My one negative was that the diagrams do blur a tad when you open to the 2x size on iPad but not so horrible that you can’t look at it. Elaine from Little Shoppe Canvas Company commented that an upgrade was coming – it came.

But, when I went to upgrade on my iPad, I got a message that I needed iOS5 or greater to upgrade. Well, I’d just bought this iPad in Sept 2011, so back to the Apple store to find out what was going on.  I found the oldest clerk in the store to help me. And, he was patient, helpful, & explained that I am supposed to plug the iPad into my computer & the upgrade will practically occur by itself. Yeah, sure. I was not optimistic but I went home to try.  I never knew that I was supposed to plug this into the computer – you don’t get manuals any more!

Well, messages automatically came up all right – but it told me that in order to upgrade the iPad, I had to upgrade iTunes version to 10.2 or greater. You got to be kidding me! Can’t they ever just STOP upgrading I lamented to myself, knew “they” wouldn’t, & bit the bullet.

So, I bravely went to apple.com, looked at the support tab, & then downloads. Amazingly, I located the right thing & it worked!! It took hours to do it it’s thing – it must have needed a ton of updates because as little as I use iTunes, I recall ignoring those annoying pop-ups telling me an upgrade was available. But, this latest upgrade went much smoother. Maybe “they” are listening to us computer light weights & making it easy for us to stay in the game.

So, back to the iPad for its update & it worked as easy as the Apple clerk had said. Then, to the app updates on my iPad for Stitch Landscape & it worked!! And, the diagrams at 2X are clearer.   I only wish the pictures showed the improvement because even though they weren’t bad before it was worth the effort!!  So, thanks to Elaine for her update & Apple for making updates easier.  And,  I’ll probably still ignore updates until I am forced to download.

Before 

 

After 


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment