Melitastitches4fun's Blog


Night Sky on Christmas Trees
February 11, 2012, 10:46 am
Filed under: ANG Main Line Stitchers Chapter, Christmas Trees

After replenishing my stock of Gold Rush 14 (WG84C), I was able to finish the sky. I have decided to to use Stitch Landscape, an iPad app, exclusively to select stitches for this piece.

Stitch Landscape is by Little Shoppe Canvas Company. And, the app is $10.99 at http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/stitch-landscape/id469541089?mt=8 (I have no financial connection to them or sadly, Apple). The landscape categories are clouds (28), flowers (27), grass (40), mountains (41), sand (30), shrubbery (18), sky (40), snow (27), soil (18), stone (18), tree (30), tree bark (12), & water (25). So, I think I should be able to find enough suitable stitches to finish this ornament which consists of sky, trees, & snow with 354 stitches to select from (the Description on iTunes says there are 370 stitches & within the hints section there could be more)! The diagrams are very clear at the smaller iPhone size. They do blur a tad when you open to the 2x size on iPad but not so horrible that you can’t look at it. And, the diagrams are easy to follow.

The Stitch Hints for sky are very helpful as they speak to what colors to select for the dynamics of the sky (fair weather, storm, time of day), coverage. For my sky, I reviewed the 40 patterns, narrowed down to 6 potential & selected pattern 23. It is difficult to pick this up on the stitched canvas. I have found that darker colors do not tend to display patterns as well as lighter ones. Here are 2 pictures to show that pattern I selected & to display the differences between the 1x & 2x for those you considering purchasing the app.

And, I love how the Gold Rush is dark black & blue with the sparkles when stitched. I still have to fill in some falling snow and I think you can see the slant of the stitch just enough to aid the impression of falling snow.


12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for your review of the landscape app, I’m heading to the itunes store now!

Comment by Cindy

Yes, that stitch is a good balance of texture and unobtrusive background.

Comment by Rachel

It’s a Beau Geste canvas.
Sammy Rusk

Comment by Sammy Rusk

Thanks Sammy, you’re the 2nd person to verify the designer as Beau Geste. It’s a shame they are no longer painting canvases.

Comment by melitastitches4fun

Sounds like a good reason to purchase an IPad, just needed some rationale to buy it. Thanks.

Comment by Alex Rockefeller

If my eyes aren’t looking at needlepoint, then it’s a good bet I’m exporing something on the iPad!!

Comment by melitastitches4fun

Thanks, Melita for the great review. I am happy to hear you are enjoying the book. The second book is in the works. We are currently working on an update to rectify the blurred text. It should be available in a month or so.
Thanks, Elaine From Little Shoppe Canvas Co.

Comment by elaine

Thanks Elaine, Good to know! Appreciate the update & good luck with second book. Will the next book be a different theme other than landscapes?

Comment by melitastitches4fun

the 2nd book will focus on a similar theme. Things which may go unnoticed but we noticed and are working up stitches that we feel are suitable. I appreciate the buzz. thanks, Elaine

Comment by elaine

Thanks for the tease & for improving an already wonderful resource.

Comment by melitastitches4fun

I have this book on my iPhone. When I am stitching, i find the smaller device is handier than the iPad and then of course, I have it when I take my stitching elsewhere I also have Suzy’s Stitches and both of Ruth’s books on my iPhone. Have Stitches, will travel as they say. Can’t wait for the new book.

Comment by Judy

I have SuZy’s Portable Stitches on my Droid smartphone b/c Landscapes isn’t in the Market. So, I have one app one place & one in another. Along with way too many books, I must have over a 1,000 stitches to select from! SuZy’s is nice too. It has a couple of hundred stitches, tips & broken down by over 100 uses.

Comment by melitastitches4fun




Leave a comment