Melitastitches4fun's Blog


‘Pieces of Eight’, Octagons A B C
February 13, 2010, 7:08 am
Filed under: Pieces of Eight

This year’s Chapter project is ‘Pieces of Eight’ by Gayle Bicknell.  This was presented originally in Needlepoint Now in 4 installments (Sep/Oct 1999; Jan/Feb 2000; Mar/Apr 2000; May/Jun 2000; Jul/Aug 2000). 

I and several others are selecting to complete the project in smaller pieces.  For example, I am making napkin ring holders (with 3 octagons each) and the rest are being made into individual pieces to mount, frame, and given as gifts.  Mostly, we’re using our own stash.  And, we’re doing 3 octagons per monthly meeting & taking turns being the ‘teacher’ (who stitches in advance of the meeting to answer any questions & give any helpful tips).  So far, only Octagon B has proven difficult. 

For Octagon A, Heart Amadeus, I added an Outer Sprats Head using 1 thread & I added beads in the 8 halves of the tops of the hearts. 

For Octagon B, Walneto Variation, I added beads in the middle of the center squares near the borders. 

For Octagon C, Waffle & Milanese, I added beads in the center of each Milanese unit. 

Octagon A Octagon B Octagon C


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi Melita,

I have this pattern in my stash from the old issues though I haven’t stitched it yet. This is a fun one and I’ll enjoy watching your progress!

Enjoyed catching up on all of your other posts. 🙂

Cynthia
Windy Meadow

Comment by Cynthia

Melita…

Like Cynthia, I have this in my stash. love the way your doing it. Do you mind telling me what color block A is?

Sandy

Comment by Sandy

Hi Sandy, Thanks, they are working up nicely. For A, I used ThreadWorX, an overdyed cotton floss, Victorian Christmas #1083. Melita

Comment by melitastitches4fun

[…] ‘Pieces of Eight’, Octagons A B C February 2010 3 comments 4 […]

Pingback by 2010 in review – courtesy of WordPress.com « Melitastitches4fun's Blog

Funny–my chapter is going to do this project ( parts) this year. This info is very helpful. Will probably ask questions later.

Thanks and enjoy Carol

Comment by carol whitton




Leave a comment