Melitastitches4fun's Blog


A Berlin Work Cardinal, Taking Flight

Back to Susan Hoekstra’s piece which is from a small pilot class our chapter did for her 2014 Seminar class. It is working up nicely. I am getting practice laying threads with the cardinal. Once I really looked at what I had stitched in class, I saw I had deviated slightly from the pattern. So, I had to rip out and restart his stomach. It was great advice to compensate after doing the main area.
It amazes me but I find stitching in a class environment nearly always produces rework. Apparently, there are too many distractions for me to focus. Do you find this happens?
The tree trunk pattern turned out differently depending on how I stitched it. I doubt I’ll ever know why the differs occurred. The far right seems looser than the next few & then the pattern changes for half the trunk but then end up more like the right side. Odd! But, I like it – it is uniquely mine.
Isn’t the cardinal pretty!
Cardinal sitting on a branch

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Your cardinal looks so lifelike, Melita, I love the shading and that beak! I enlarged the picture but still could not see a variation in the trunk. Sue

Comment by suesci




Leave a Reply

