Melitastitches4fun's Blog


Musical Notes for Ba
July 10, 2010, 3:33 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

This piece was done by my sister, Anita, for me. It is her own design. Very clever use of bargello to frame the sheet of music paper. The note pins are placed on the needlepoint on the sheet music corresponding to the notes B and A – which spells what my brother nicknamed me  as a child, Ba, because he could not say Melita. My sister, Anita, is known affectionately as Na. I played flute & violin – thus the musical theme. My room at our childhood home was & is decorated in pinks/reds.

Although I see the piece daily (now it resides in a corner of my upstairs hallway where a pink/red piece works ok), I did not consciously link the use of pins in my needlepoint to this piece. Perhaps, this piece was my inspiration to begin stitching needlepoint specifically for a particular pin. So, if “Pinsations” ever becomes a “Sensation”, I’ll credit you, Anita, as my “Inspiration”!! Either way, love you & thanks again!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

As a piano teacher I have to say I LOVE this design! So cute and colorful.

Rebecca in IA

Comment by Rebecca in IA

It is always good to know the story behind a piece – well done Anita, she must be so glad that you appreciate her work so much!

Comment by Rachel

Imagine my exclamation to find I’ve been blogged! It is interesting to ponder the revelation that your stitchery innovation could have begun through this needlepoint…Thank you for the blogged dedication! Also, Pinsations is ALREADY a sensation, Ba! The black and gold vase/pin creation on my mantle is a prized possession! I’m positive that you already have the admiration of stitching bloggers worldwide! Love, Na

Comment by Anita Vibbert

Hi Anita, I figured you’d be surprised! And, I’ll blog about you again – in a few months for something else I stitched & again in December for the black & gold vase you mentioned. Thank you again. Love, Ba

Comment by melitastitches4fun




Leave a Reply

